Wednesday, July 28, 2010
Bible School
Jade has been going to bible school this week. Sunday night was day 1, when we picked her up the first thing out of her mouth was "now that is BIBLE SCHOOL". She went on to tell us that "they know how to teach you about Jesus"! She loves it! I have to admit that I was a little worried ...Jade can have a lot of energy. However they are using alot of energy! Everyday when I have picked her up her teacher has made a point to seek me out to tell me what a wonderful little girl Jade is. She said that she is so loving and caring, very attentive to the kid's who don't seem to make friends easily, that she jumps right in to make them feel like they fit in. She has lead the prayer several times and does a good job. I am always glad to hear that she is doing well, that maybe something we try to teach her is sticking....but most of all that she has Jesus in her heart! A while back my mom was in the nursing home, Jade loved to go! Most kids, adults for that matter really don't like that place. Jade was so good with the older folks there. She loved helping them play bingo or puzzles. Or just sitting and talking to them! She would take them snacks and they looked forward to seeing her.There is a little boy in her class at school that has downs syndrome, she has been his helper for the past 2 years, he just loves Jade. His mother has requested that Jade be his helper.She does so good with him. She loves helping at the soup kitchen...Bruce said maybe this is the direction we need to steer her in, she seems to do well helping others.I am sure I will continue to worry about her, anyone that knows me knows that thats just what I do....but I know God has a plan for Jade! (and that I am so proud of her)!
children
Last night we saw the kids...Cassie and Kyle came up with all of their beautiful children! They have got to be the best looking kids I have ever seen!!! I mean besides my own. I have to admit"we have some pretty kids" They were on vacation last week.I sure did miss them,we don't see them everyday or even every week, but I talk to them everyday. Harper seemed like she had grown a foot, she is getting so tall! Calvary is a looker he's going to break some hearts...hope not! Oliver Jack is just so sweet and funny, he just wins your heart right away, and then there is Finley Rose...she is just plain beautiful, it's always fun for them to come up. OK sometimes it can get alittle loud, alittle bit of sensory overload.But we love it! That's just kids. Jade always gets over stimulated!(LOL!!!) She just loves to be little momma and to be in charge. She loves to play with them and always looks forward to them coming up, however she is 4 to 9 years older than them. And somebody always gets up upset...doesn't last long, she means well she really does! Anyway I guess what I'm saying is "kids will be kids"
That sibling rivalry is both normal and inevitable, Instead of reacting to the fighting by intervening, I believe parents should teach their children to settle things for themselves.Stepping in may actually reinforce fighting.Kids will normally learn what they can do to get mom involved...I believe like most things it takes 2...and (MOST) times it's not just 1 that is to blame...like I said kids will be kids and alot of time they are not "angels" but little demons...always our little angels!And we love them unconditionally!!!
That sibling rivalry is both normal and inevitable, Instead of reacting to the fighting by intervening, I believe parents should teach their children to settle things for themselves.Stepping in may actually reinforce fighting.Kids will normally learn what they can do to get mom involved...I believe like most things it takes 2...and (MOST) times it's not just 1 that is to blame...like I said kids will be kids and alot of time they are not "angels" but little demons...always our little angels!And we love them unconditionally!!!
Wednesday, July 14, 2010
VACATION..........
So do you ever just feel like you REALLY NEED a vacation? We have been in the habit of taking family vacations. WHOLE family vacations. And why it is nice to spent time with everyone, it is also hard! Blending several families together for a week in the same house can be trying at times. Don't get me wrong I love all my kids and grand kids...but anytime you put 2 or more mom's and a house full of kids together, somebody is bound to end up with hurt feelings or just MAD!!! And then bless their hearts you throw the ones that don't have kids in the mix and they are just oblivious to anything being wrong, kinda like the dad's,(you mom's know what I mean). I look forward to vacationing again with "THE FAMILY" but this year it would be nice to just go the 3 of us. We used to go every year to the outer banks just Bruce, me and Jade, a house, a hot tub and the ocean, it was great. Jade had a friend that her family had a house (OCEAN FRONT) and every year they looked froward to playing together! It was so much fun. Of course that was before Jade became so grown.(NOT) Anyway I look forward to that again. Just to be still together. Some times I think you just need some still time with just your family. We are praying for a week at the beach....do you hear me GOD?????
Tuesday, July 13, 2010
ADHD
we have been dealing with ADHD for 28 years...or what was thought to be that. i guess we didn't get it right the first time round, so we get to try again. guess what it's not looking real good this time either! We aren't completly sure this is what it is this time. It ended up being Bipolar Disorder the first time around! I am sure that isn't the case this time though! Maybe it's just a case of ASS!
ADHD not only alters your child’s self control and behavior, but also it invades your home and attacks your family. It can seriously deplete your limited time and energy.Everyone has an opinion why you can’t control your child. And you are embarrassed. You are embarrassed in front of your neighbors and your embarrassed in front of your friend's and you are embarrassed in front of your relatives.You feel guilty and helpless, you try to help, but nothing helps. Then on those really bad days when everything is going wrong … you know, when you have been run ragged and you’re worn out and maybe you yell at the kids too much.After a horrendous day and they are lying in bed the little voice comes out again and whispers to you."It’s all your fault. You’re a bad mother." we should know that it’s not our fault. ADHD is not your fault and it’s not your child’s fault. and you don't need to feel guilty....but that is also easier said than done!Something i have yet to learn! We have prayed for 30 years faithfuly and it just gets worse, please don't think I'm saying I don't think God can change a person or situation, or even heal...I KNOW HE CAN!!! I'm just saying in this situation for whatever reason he HASN'T!!! Maybe it's not the child that needs to change, maybe it is us. Maybe we just haven't learned how to deal with the problem.
I guess there is always the chance it's not ADHD at all. Maybe i am just a bad mother! Maybe if you are a easy child I can do a great job mothering, maybe when you are strong willed, I just can't do it! She told me yesterday that "you just don't seem like you love me anymore" it broke my heart. Sometimes I don't like her...is that wrong? She makes me sooooooooooooo mad! But I alway's love her...ALWAYS!!! I never want her to feel unloved.
So what to do??????? How do you deal?
ADHD not only alters your child’s self control and behavior, but also it invades your home and attacks your family. It can seriously deplete your limited time and energy.Everyone has an opinion why you can’t control your child. And you are embarrassed. You are embarrassed in front of your neighbors and your embarrassed in front of your friend's and you are embarrassed in front of your relatives.You feel guilty and helpless, you try to help, but nothing helps. Then on those really bad days when everything is going wrong … you know, when you have been run ragged and you’re worn out and maybe you yell at the kids too much.After a horrendous day and they are lying in bed the little voice comes out again and whispers to you."It’s all your fault. You’re a bad mother." we should know that it’s not our fault. ADHD is not your fault and it’s not your child’s fault. and you don't need to feel guilty....but that is also easier said than done!Something i have yet to learn! We have prayed for 30 years faithfuly and it just gets worse, please don't think I'm saying I don't think God can change a person or situation, or even heal...I KNOW HE CAN!!! I'm just saying in this situation for whatever reason he HASN'T!!! Maybe it's not the child that needs to change, maybe it is us. Maybe we just haven't learned how to deal with the problem.
I guess there is always the chance it's not ADHD at all. Maybe i am just a bad mother! Maybe if you are a easy child I can do a great job mothering, maybe when you are strong willed, I just can't do it! She told me yesterday that "you just don't seem like you love me anymore" it broke my heart. Sometimes I don't like her...is that wrong? She makes me sooooooooooooo mad! But I alway's love her...ALWAYS!!! I never want her to feel unloved.
So what to do??????? How do you deal?
Thursday, July 8, 2010
i should write a book....except i can't write!
dysfunctional: what is the definition anyway?? and i am sure we fall into the category. there is so much drama in my life, yesterday i went to drop off jade with bruce at his work, so i could go pick up aidan from my mom's house, where his dad (my son) lives,with his girlfriend...so i could take aidan to the hospital to meet his new baby sister, who he said he was going to hold her hand when we get there tohelp her walk.i explained that he would have to wait for that, since she is to little to walk right now.and we went into his 50 why questions.by the way she is beautiful! aidan's mom, is still legally married to my son, just had a baby by another guy, who she is living with...but will not put up with michael having HER SON around his girlfriend because it's not the same as her situation?????? how's that? but did you hear me, i took aidan to see his mom, my ex-daughter in law...well i guess she is really still my daughter in law.LOL.
i don't even know who's related to me and who isn't.
she asked me if i would keep aidan when she went in to have her baby, she feels like he's happy here, that makes me feel good, i guess. aidan is sweet as can be. i am sure he is bipolar...HE IS WIRED!!!! but he knows just the right things to say (just like his parents) he informed me that he "misses me all the time!" and he "loves me the most,and so much" he told bruce tonight that he was glad bruce went to work to make money to buy him more cars! the boy loves him some hotwheels! anyway i have rambled on, and on enough i am probably bipolar myself...
i don't even know who's related to me and who isn't.
she asked me if i would keep aidan when she went in to have her baby, she feels like he's happy here, that makes me feel good, i guess. aidan is sweet as can be. i am sure he is bipolar...HE IS WIRED!!!! but he knows just the right things to say (just like his parents) he informed me that he "misses me all the time!" and he "loves me the most,and so much" he told bruce tonight that he was glad bruce went to work to make money to buy him more cars! the boy loves him some hotwheels! anyway i have rambled on, and on enough i am probably bipolar myself...
Sunday, July 4, 2010
cleavage
i cut a pair of spandexy kinda pants off, you know the comfy yoga kind. well jade likes to wear the cut off leg as a shirt. i'm sure she things it makes her look grown...you know she is 9 going on 25! anyway bruce was giving her a hard time today about it, i said she thought she looked sexy, she informed us that she can't look sexy, because she doesn't even have a crack!!!(CLEAVAGE)that was kinda funny!
Thursday, July 1, 2010
who are we...
after having 4 kids all day. and all i heard was I'm hungry (thank you God that jade can fix her own)i finally sat down around 10, completely exhausted! at one point bruce said "hey I'm hungry,could you fix me a snack"?LOL!! all i could say was NO!! of course he didn't expect me to while lying in bed,thinking of there being a kid in every bedroom (1 in our bed)i couldn't help but think who am i???? in this hectic life we live do we lose ourselves, becoming what everyone else wants us to be?
I'm not quite sure that ieven know who i am anymore, other than bruces wife and jade's mom, other than a wife, mother,mom,mommy and nana...who am i????
I'm not quite sure that ieven know who i am anymore, other than bruces wife and jade's mom, other than a wife, mother,mom,mommy and nana...who am i????
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)